#SAMA24 Winners: Shekhinah, Distruction Boyz and Sun EL Musician win big

Shekhinah, Sun EL Musician, Distruction Boyz at #SAMA24

Sun City was lit on Saturday night during the South African Music Awards (SAMAs) featuring hot performances from some of the best artists in the country. Music fans, artists and music industry insiders were at the Sun City Bowl to crown 2018 SAMA24 winners.

The who’s who of the entertainment industry as well as music industry heavyweights came out for a night with the stars. The award ceremony was hosted by Somizi Mhlongo together with Dineo Ranaka and comedian Mpho Popps. Kwesta, Joe Nina, Rouge, Distruction Boyz were some of the acts who delivered fulfilling performances.

Shekhinah was a major shine for the night after scooping 3 important awards; Album of the Year, Female Artist of the Year and Newcomer of the Year. Sun EL Musician scooped SAMRO Highest Airplay, SAMPRA Highest Airplay and Best Collaboration. Record of the Year was awarded to Durban-duo; Distruction Boyz for their biggest song ‘Omunye.’

Among those who were present at the glittering awards ceremony are President Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa and the Minister of Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa.

Here are the winners of #SAMA24:

Album of the YearShekhinah
Male Artist of the Year – Prince Kaybee
Female Artist of the YearShekhinah
Best Duo/Group – Mafikizolo
Newcomer of the YearShekhinah
Best Dance AlbumLady Zamar
Best Hip Hop Album – Shane Eagle
Lifetime Achievement AwardSpokes H
Lifetime Achievement AwardSteve Kekana
Lifetime Achievement AwardMbongeni Ngema
SAMRO Highest Airplay Composer’s – Sun EL Musician feat. Samthing Soweto
Best Pop AlbumTresor
Best Afro Pop Album – Mafikizolo
Best Kwaito AlbumBusiswa Highly Flavored

SAMPRA Highest Airplay Composer’s – Sun EL Musician feat. Samthing Soweto
Best Digital Download – Joyous Celebration
Best Adult Contemporary Album – Symphonic Soweto by Wouter Kellerman and Soweto Gospel Choir
Best African Adult Contemporary Album – Ilanga by Siseko Pame
Best Alternative Music Album – Mangaliso by Bongeziwe Mabandla
Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album – Relationships by Afrotraction
Best Contemporary Faith Music Album – Heaven’s Ways by Nqubeko Mbatha
Beste Pop Album – Laat Die Dansvloer Brand by Kurt Darren
Best Jazz Album – Ikhambi by Nduduzo Makhathini
Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album – Baroqueswing Vol. III by Charl du Plessis Trio
Best Traditional Music Album – Jessica Mbangeni Sings iGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg by Jessica Mbangeni

Best African Artist Album – The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience by Simphiwe Dana
Best Live Audio Visual Recording/ DVD – Red Mic Xperience by Donald – Produced by Robin Kohl
Best Collaboration – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto
Music Video of the Year – Arumtumtum by Rouge – Directed by Alex Fynn
Best Produced Album – Late Night People by Goldfish – Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole
Best Engineered Album – 20 by Mafikizolo – Engineered by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe
Remix of the Year – I Got You by Encore remixed by Mobi Dixon
Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land
Best Selling Album – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land
CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer – Timothy Bambela Myeni


  • Pingback: Dj Zinhle lands International endorsement deal – BGMP Media Group
  • Pingback: Zonke Dikana drops her highly anticipated album L.O.V.E. – BGMP Media Group
  • Pingback: Sun-El Musician’s journey to success – BGMP Media Group
  • Pingback: Another single by Shekhinah Donnell certified Gold – BGMP Media Group
  • Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *